Mary Verona: Unfinished Concerto

Verona Centre - © 2016 Simon Clifton

Verona Centre – © 2016 Simon Clifton

This portrait just flowed from the brush, perhaps because the look was authentic in matching my character.  The pose was dynamic yet hidden and the expression was one which made me understand the meaning of the term ‘enigmatic’ though I did not capture it quite as well as I might have.  I am pleased with the result, the first of two portraits of the same subject.  The colours of the clothing are blended underneath and naïve on the surface, we can see the yellow on the black in impasto.

Verona Centre - © 2016 Simon Clifton

Verona Centre – © 2016 Simon Clifton

The pair of paintings ‘Verona Centre’ and ‘Verona Left’ (see elseware on the blog) are the stage names, on the back of this canvas I wrote ‘Mary Verona: Unfinished Concerto’ that’s going to be the name of the two frames.  There are a series of sketches in a variety of styles created as a way of learning the features by integrating out all of the characters and mimicking some of the masters.  The sketches and paintings are from the ‘Verona Series’.

The two canvases for ‘Verona Centre’ and ‘Verona Left’ were prepped as hell and heaven respectively though I think that this one became timber instead of fire although one can still see some flames at the base in the right corner.

 

Leave a comment